God’s Balance Sheet: Lessons in Stewardship ~ Give With Us

Sunday’s Scripture Passages ~ Numbers 10:29-32; Proverbs 11:24-25; Acts 20:28-35

I am constantly amazed by where God’s Spirit leads me in the discernment of my sermons (and subsequently) the discernment of these blog posts.  This is where God led me this week…

This Sunday concludes our time spent with God’s Balance Sheet – Lessons in Stewardship.  The annual giving campaign at my church this year was entitled Give With Us and each week we thoughtfully explored what it means for individuals to collectively give to the furtherance of God’s Kingdom on earth.

This Sunday – the Sunday after a holiday where we pause to give thanks for our many blessings – Reeves will pause as a congregation to receive and rejoice for the riches that will be shared by individuals in the service of the Kingdom for the coming year.

All this got me thinking…what will all of this mean?

What’s next?

What all of it means is that we are continuing our legacy at Reeves.  And what a fruitful, Spirit-led, Christ-founded legacy it will be!

What’s next?  Well, I don’t know for sure.

What I do know for sure is there is great truth in the saying, “Hindsight is 20/20.”  There have been several times in my life (and I’m sure there will be several, several more) where I have said, “God, where are you in this?!”  Frustrated, in the moment, I could not see.  But after that moment, in looking back I can see where God was creating space, crafting circumstances, and moving me into place, readying me to respond.  The path I have walked and continue to walk is part of my legacy.  It tells me where I have been and helps inform where I am going.

The same can be said for the church.  Throughout the ages God’s people have been crying out, “God, where are you in this?!”  And sometimes generations pass before the people are able to reflect and identify, “There.  God is there doing what it is that God does so well.”

The path the church walks and continues to walk is part of the church’s legacy – both the Church universal and the portion of Church I serve at Reeves.  Our legacy tells us where we have been and helps inform where we are going.  And our constant discernment and seeking the Lord’s guidance challenges us to further commit ourselves in strengthening our legacy through our service and stewarding of our resources.

Give With Us has been an opportunity for the family of faith at Reeves to consider our stewardship practices, to consider how Christ stewards us, and finally, to consider how we will participate in the legacy of the Kingdom.

I think we all want to leave a legacy.  And a good one, too.

Prayer: Legacy by Nichole Nordeman

Leave a Reply

