Plot From The Plain: Firm Foundation

Sunday’s Scripture ~ Luke 6:46-49

This Sunday Reeves’ concludes our sermon series Plot From The Plain that subjected the texts of Jesus’ Sermon on the Plain from the latter part of Luke 6.  Our passage for this week focuses on Jesus’ prescription for sturdy foundation formation…and I can’t help but be propelled back to my Vacation Bible School days and sing…

The wise man built his house upon the rock.  The wise man built his house upon the rock.  The wise man built his house upon the rock and the rain came a tumblin’ down.  The rains came down and the floods came up.  The rains came down and the floods came up.  The rains came down and the floods came up and the house on the rock stood firm. 

The foolish man built his house upon the sand.  The foolish man built his house upon the sand.  The foolish man built his house upon the sand and the rain came a tumblin’ down.  The rains came down and the floods came up.  The rains came down and the floods came up.  The rains came down and the floods came up and the house on the sand went SMASH!

That song – though somewhat juvenile and not as inclusive as I would like it to be at this point in my life – is very true to the teaching of Jesus.  For our foundations to withstand the trials of life they must be built on firm support…and if not…SMASH.

As I reflect on this Scripture – and the upcoming celebration of Thanksgiving – I am reminded of those persons that have helped create a firm foundation on Christ in my life and I would like to share a bit about them with you.

(Note: names have not been changed so I can properly celebrate these people!)

One – my sweet mama who read me Bible stories every night as a child, who continues to pray for me and my ministry every single day, and who has an infectious desire to keep exploring, deepening, questioning, and expanding her relationship with the God she loves – the God she taught me to love.

Two – my beloved Andrew who is my constant support, strength, and security.  His belief in me is unfailing.  He truly is my hero.

Three – my Becky, Melissa, and Melanie – these incredibly strong women speak truth into my life, they call me on my stuff in good times and in times when I need an adjustment, and constantly peel back the veil from my eyes so I truly embrace and celebrate my own gifts and accomplishments.

Four – my Sara(h)s and Dan – amazing friends from my Candler days.  Though we live and serve in different parts of the country, they are my covenant family and we share the timeless gift of picking up right where we left off.

Five – my clergy mentors Tim, Jenn, Lisa, and Riley – your wisdom is pure gift.  You allow me to ask questions, you give me the space to try on something new and then to digest the process.  You have dried my tears and made me laugh till my ribs ache.  Your presence has and continues to shape me so much.

Six – my dear friend Lisa who has opened my eyes and deepened the love in my heart for the development, resourcing, and true connection within and beyond the beloved inclusive community.  Thank you for being my guide and including me.

Seven – the United Methodist congregations that have had hands in my formation ~ First UMC Lakeland, FL; Northside UMC Atlanta, GA; Inman UMC Fayetteville, GA; New Horizon Church Haines City, FL; Reeves UMC Orlando FL; St. Luke’s UMC Orlando, FL.

Eight – the incredible camping and retreat ministries of the Warren W. Willis United Methodist Camp and Life Enrichment Center in Fruitland Park, FL – both as a participant and a leader

Nine – a shout out to John Wesley.  Yes.

Ten – a place to honor those that will help firm and form my foundation in Christ in the days, weeks, and years ahead.

Relfection: Who are those persons in your life that have helped strengthen your foundation?  Who are those persons you could seek out to either firm up your foundation or aid them in firming theirs?  This is our work in the Kingdom – so it is also our joy.

Prayer: “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.  I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly trust in Jesus’ name.  On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand; all other ground is sinking sand.”*

*”My Hope Is Built,” The United Methodist Hymnal, 368.

 

 

Leave a Reply

