Upbuilding: Destined For Salvation

Sunday’s Scripture ~ I Thessalonians 5:1-11

Ever have those days where you just cannot wake up?  Either where you hit snooze on the alarm clock again and again and again or where you do get up and you do not really feel like you are fully functioning?  It has been overcast in my neck of the woods the past few days. Overcast and dreary with a few light showers. I am thankful for the rain – we risk brushfires without it – but I miss the sunshine. I need it to wake up!  Also, I am not fully adjusted to this time change…it is dark so early that my body is ready for sleep as soon as the sun sets…makes the equation of Sarah + evening meetings all the more entertaining!

What do we do when we need to wake up again through out the day?  We find a pick me up. A cup of coffee. A soda. A snack. I do my best to fit in time on my yoga mat. It seems that the most productive time of my day immediately follows my practice. My head is clear. My brain is focused. My movements are swift, discerned, and efficient. I am so thankful to have that time and thankful to serve in a vocation that recognizes the importance of health of body, mind, and spirit.

Additionally – transitioning in and out some of the poses – that will really wake you up!  Ha!  (If you’re curious, complete an Internet search on scorpion yoga pose.)

In our Scripture passage for this week Paul rouses the Thessalonians to awaken from their slumbers. They are not sleeping the days away; rather, Paul is guarding them from lulling into the slumber of sin. He makes clear that it is God who does the waking, and in waking us sets us on the path of salvation. John Wesley says that God stirs the hearts of individuals through the power of the Holy Spirit. That stirring leads us to take a good long look in the mirror. We look. We are convicted of our sins – both of commission and omission – and God’s grace leads us to and through the moment of repentance. God’s grace redeems us. We are made new.

And then what?  Are we awake permanently?  No longer susceptible to sin? I wish…or maybe I don’t. God’s grace wakes us up and then God’s grace holds us accountable to our behavior throughout our lives.  God reawakens us when our behavior is not becoming of the gospel. God reawakens us when God is ready to lead us in new directions. God reawakens us so we can learn the lessons of the past in order to sculpt a better future. I want this sort of accountability. I want this sort of relationship with God. And by God’s grace I have it.

Each yoga class ends with the closing pose of savasana or corpse pose. This is a pose where the yogi lies flat on his or her mat with limbs comfortably outstretched leaving space between the legs and between the arms and the torso. In savasana breathing is no longer calculated. Every tension in the body is released. The mind is calmed and the yogi begins to drift in that presence. Corpse pose represents the death of the practice. The practice is over. It is past. All the accomplishments. All the failures. All the focus. All the confusion. Done. The yogi lays in the stillness until the instructor guides the yogi into fetal pose, which represents the birth and beginning of something new. A reawakening. The body and mind are rested while they both bear the lasting impact of the practice. Eventually the yogi returns to seated position with hands drawn to prayer at heart center. Gratitude is expressed for all that has been because it shapes who the yogi is and hope is named for who the yogi will become.

Awake I am ready to explore, feel, savor, and welcome. Awake I am ready to create, to employ the gifts God gives to me and to creation to serve my neighbor. Awake I see the best evidences of God’s grace and forgiveness in the faces of my neighbors.

I won’t be hitting the snooze button on any of that.

Church, it is time wake up!

Prayer: “Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up all you sleepers. Stand up, stand up, stand up all you dreamers. Hands up, hands up, hands up all believers. Take up your cross, carry it on. All that you reveal, with light in us, will come to life and start breathing. Here we stand our hearts are yours, Lord. Not our will, but yours be done, Lord.”* Amen.

*”Wake Up,” All Sons and Daughters, 2012. Enjoy the video here.

Leave a Reply

