An Unusual Gift

Scripture ~ Luke 2:1-20

Merry Christmas One and All! This week we celebrate the gift of our Savior to the world. Christ is the greatest gift to ever be received.

As I prepare the gifts I will give this year during Christmastide, I am aware of an unusual gift I will also give. Shortly after Christmas I will donate my hair to Beautiful Lengths, which is a partnership program between Pantene and the American Cancer Society.  The goal of Beautiful Lengths is to “help women grow long, strong beautiful hair and to provide the funds to turn this hair into free, real-hair wigs for women with cancer.”

I have donated my hair several times throughout my life. I remember my donation cut in 2012.  At that time my hairdresser shared space with a colleague and she was doing a trial wedding hairdo for her client that day. Wesley brushed my hair, gathered it in a rubber band, and raised the scissors to my about-to-be-cut ponytail and Wesley’s colleague’s client screamed, “NO!!!!!!!” So I had to opportunity to share with her why my hair would be 14 inches shorter than when I arrived.

Another joy of donating hair is mailing it at the post office. The postal worker asks the standard question – are you shipping anything fragile or hazardous – and replying that I am shipping human hair always draws a smile or two…

This donation to Beautiful Lengths is especially dear to me this year as several of my dear friends are bravely walking the path to recovery from breast cancer. These women and their families have faced this disease head on with strength and grace and spirits that will not be burdened by this disease. I dedicate my gift of hair in honor of Bena, Shelly, and Jennifer. You ladies are inspirations to me and I thank God daily for your continued health and healing.

In this season of gift giving God teaches us that in giving we receive. God also teaches us to be surprised by gifts – those we receive and those we give. God may be calling you to give in usual ways, but do not limit God if God calls you to give unusually. In my experience the unusual reveals the extraordinary.  Christ’s incarnation in a humble stable was quite unusual and that was just the beginning of a extraordinary life that would gift and save us one and all.

Following the example of our God, may we give unusually.  May we give extraordinarily.  May we give.

Prayer: “What can I give him, poor as I am?  If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb; if I were a Wise Man, I would do my part; yet what I can I give him: give my heart.”* Amen.

*”In the Bleak Midwinter,” The United Methodist Hymnal 221.

Leave a Reply

