Community Charge

Sunday’s Scripture ~ I Timothy 6:6-19

One of my greatest lessons – and continuous lesson! – from God is the lesson of contentment. Since moving into our first apartment in January 2007 God has sown and is persistent in sowing this question of discernment:

Do you cherish it enough to move it?

Now that question may cause some to laugh, but for folks in professions and vocations that relocate with great frequency, this question that prompts a reflective pause is so valuable. I am able to appreciate something in a shop window, on a hanger, or in a display and with great joy leave it right where it is because the thought of finding a box to move it in causes my guts a great deal of distress. And then, of course, there are other items for which I will absolutely secure a safe mode of transportation for relocation.

And for the record not all of them are shoes.

Promise…

Through the practice of contentment – and yes it is a practice – God shifts my heart away from the desires of this world and towards the desires of Kingdom.

  • In the Kingdom it is not about what I have, it is about what we share.
  • In the Kingdom it is not about what I want, it is about what God desires.
  • In the Kingdom it is not about my will be done, it is about God’s will be done.

I truly believe a huge part of God’s will, a huge part of God’s justice is to live in the world of enough rather than in the world of excess. When I live within enough

  • I am able to live within rather than beyond my stewardship.
  • I am able to share God’s riches with all people rather than hoard them to myself.
  • I am able to keep my commitments, which helps me keep to my word, which helps me keep my integrity.
  • I am free.

In this world of enough I do not feel without or less than or lacking; I feel whole and focused. I feel less distracted by stuff and more centered on faith. I feel empowered to keep the first things first – faith in God and faith with family.

I am so grateful to begin my third year of ministry with the Tuskawilla Family in just a few days. Even though I am not packing as some of my friends and fellow pastors are currently, I continue to be mindful of our culture’s message to collect and consume while Jesus impresses the message of contentment and healthy stewardship. I want less so God’s family can have more. And when God’s family has more, we all are truly blessed.

Please join me in welcoming and thanking Vanessa Schuchart and Rev. Kate Ling for their leadership in worship this Sunday. Both of these ladies are such gifts to me. Thank you, Vanessa and Pastor Kate, for serving this week!

Prayer: “Come, thou Fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing thy grace; streams of mercy, never ceasing, call for songs of loudest praise. Teach me some melodious sonnet,  sung by flaming tongues above. Praise the mount! I’m fixed upon it, mount of thy redeeming love.”* Amen.

*”Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” The United Methodist Hymnal 400.

Leave a Reply

