God Never Said That: It Doesn’t Matter What You Do

Sunday’s Scripture ~ Psalm 8:4 and Revelation 3:14-22.

This week while serving as the Middle School Worship Leader at the Warren Willis United Methodist Camp in Fruitland Park I have had the privilege of reconnecting with one of my former youth that is now an amazing young adult leader. Her name is Greer.

I met Greer as a ninth grader in my small group at St. Luke’s UMC Orlando. She was bold and opinionated. And her favorite word was annoying! I walked with Greer through highs and lows. We shared many conversations about work ethic, goals, fears, dreams, and sun screen. We talked about the presence of God. We talked about the absence of God. We asked tough questions. We sought tough answers. In many ways we grew up together.

Some of my most formative relationships growing up were with my youth counselors. As I think back to those conversations, I am amazed to realize that those conversations I participated in fifteen years ago are the same conversations I shared with Greer five years ago are the same conversations I am overhearing Greer share with campers this week.

This behavior – this kind of investment and care for our sisters and brothers in Christ that are coming after us – it is learned. Someone has to teach us. Someone has to share with us. Then we share and teach this behavior to others. And God’s gift of discipleship lives on.

As I see all of the campers, counselors, camp staff, and adult volunteers this week I am filled again with hope for the church. I am filled with assurance that what I do – how I serve, how I lead, how I study, how I engage in relationships and behaviors – matters. What I do is an example for others, for good or for ill, for sickness or for health. And when I look into the eyes of these middle school campers – these 11 to 13 year olds – I want them to know what a life lived in fun and faith looks like. I want them to know that a life of fun and faith exists and that it is available to them! I want them to know that they can choose a life of faith and be fulfilled.

But it is one thing to say it. And it is another thing to see it.

My youth counselors lived what they said. I strive to live what I say. And I am humbled to see the fruit of those seeds in my youth…like what I see in Greer. What she does for the Kingdom matters…and the fact that God made a way for me to be a part and a continuing part of Greer’s story is amazing.

I give thanks for those that taught me the importance of investing in people – that taught me the importance of discipleship. I will continue to live in response to those gifts. I will invest in others.

They matter. You matter.

And what we do matters.

Prayer: “Lord whose love through humble service bore the weight of human need, who upon the cross, forsaken, offered mercy’s perfect deed: we your servants, bring the worship not of voice alone, but heart. Consecrating to your purpose every gift that you impart. Called by worship to your service, forth in your dear name we go to the child, the youth, the aged, love in living deeds to show; hope and health, good will and comfort, counsel, aid, and peace we give, that your servants, Lord, in freedom may your mercy know, and live.”* Amen.

*”Lord, Whose Love Through Humble Service,” The United Methodist Hymnal 581.

 

Leave a Reply

