Vital Elements of Worship: Wash Your Hands

Sunday’s Scripture ~ Mark 1:4-11.

During my hospital chaplaincy internship I encountered (and sometimes endured) a variety of different experiences. From late night pages to the Emergency Room to early morning chats with Food Service employees, from wandering the halls of the ICU *literally* watching the eyes of Jesus follow me to watching life-flight helicopters transport persons from one hospital to another. I learned so much about humility and humanity. I learned when it was better to speak and better to remain silent. I experienced joy and sorrow and pink eye.

That’s right. Pink eye.

My brother had pink eye several times growing up, but I eluded its havoc until my chaplaincy internship. I remember sitting in urgent care and asking the physician how I contracted pink eye; I consider myself a generally healthy person. “Probably,” he said, “because you touched a door handle at the hospital and then touched your face. The person that touched the handle before you likely had germs on their hands that developed into conjunctivitis for you.

How kind.

By the end of my internship I knew the location of every automatic door in the hospitals. I opened doors with my hips and elbows like a champ! Having come out of “the valley of the shadow of pink eye” I was not taking any chances on a repeat visit.

As I think back on this experience, I am struck by the fact that perhaps I would not have contracted pink eye if someone else had taken the time to wash their hands. Hospitals have hand sanitizers and sinks all over! And yet maybe someone thought they would skip that stop at the sink or dispenser just that once…

And then God – as God usually does – turned this situation on me – and I began to think about all of the times that I “skip a stop” or activity or gesture that would make the path of the person coming behind me easier. It could be picking up a piece of trash so that someone else does not have to see it or do it. It could be stopping to write a quick note or text message to someone that has been on my heart. It could be taking the time to complete a chore that needs to be done that is not necessarily on my plate, but on the plate of someone I love.

If I take time for these small, simple gestures I believe God’s care and generosity shows through my action. And if we each took time – made time – for small, simple gestures so that God’s care and generosity shows through all of us – what a wonderful world it would be.

What might those small, simple actions be for you this week? In his teaching with the Early Methodists John Wesley established Three General Rules to guide the life and practice of faith for the people called Methodist. Wesley invited people to consider how (if) their thoughts, words, and/or deeds upheld the following:

  1. Do no harm.
  2. Do good.
  3. Attend upon the ordinances of God through prayer, the searching of Holy Scripture, and receiving the sacraments.

I invite you to take time this week to consider how your thoughts, words, and deeds uphold Wesley’s General Rules. How are your decisions leading you to do no harm, do good, and attend upon the ordinances of God? How are you creating space for the necessary and needful stops along the way to make the path easier for persons coming after you?

How many times have you washed your hands today? (*wink*) 

Prayer: “I am thine, O Lord, I have heard thy voice, and it told thy love to me; but I long to rise in the arms of faith and be closer drawn to thee. Consecrate me now to thy service, Lord, by the power of grace divine; let my soul look up with a steadfast hope, and my will be lost in thine. Draw me nearer, nearer, blessed Lord, to the cross where thou hast died. Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer, blessed Lord, to thy precious, bleeding side.”* Amen.

*”I Am Thine, O Lord,” The United Methodist Hymnal 419.

 

Leave a Reply

